Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:15 a.m. - 2007-05-19
I've always liked poppies
Last night I was so tired that I went to sleep around 11 p.m. and I tried to read the third Harry Potter book in Serbian (no English books for a change), but apparently I fell asleep at some point because I woke up maybe a couple of hours later to notice that my drawing table's lamp was on and the book was on the floor.

We were supposed to go to Kosutnjak today with all the other landscape architecture students to collect some plants for our herbariums, but since it's raining we're not going. We were supposed to be there at 10 a.m., and even if I had forgotten to put the alarm on, I woke up exactly at 8 a.m. I just checked if it was raining and then continued sleeping. Mm, Saturdays..

We have this stupid rule about English homework at the uni - if we haven't done at least four exercices by the end of the semester, we have to do some extra work, like a translation or something. I've got only one homework done (uh, been a bit busy, you know), and now I have to translate three full pages of some text that has something to do with landscape architecture. Thank God the professor likes me, so she said that since I'm from Finland and it's easier for me to translate from Serbian to English rather than from English to Serbian, I can choose the text by myself for example from the botanics book, as long as I have the original text to show her. You know, like a "ci-jointe". I chose this really interesting plant morphology text about inflorescences, and even if I at first thought it'd be boring and difficult, I find I quite like it! I mean, even if I can't find all the terminology stuff from the dictionary (like 'racemose' or 'spadix'), I can use Google and Wikipedia and then find the words by searching similar subjects. It's actually pretty fun since I like botanics, googling stuff and English.

Did you know that poppies belong to the family Papaveraceae, and the "opium poppy" that everyone knows is called Papaver somniferum?

(btw, 13,000th song on last.fm: Elastinen - Anna Mun)

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!