Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:18 p.m. - 2007-04-22
Just an average Sunday, really
I was just playing with my mp3 player and couldn't decide what to listen to, when it suddenly started playing Chopin's Fantaisie-Impromptu. I suddenly remembered all the times Heidi had played it and how playing it is so difficult despite the seeming easiness of it. But that's what makes it so beautiful, how you manage to make it look like the easiest thing on Earth even if most of us could never handle it perfectly. I always wished that I could play the piano but I never really got the hang of it, using both your hands simultaneously in a way that acquires so much coordination. I wonder what it's like to have those pretty pianist fingers, long and slender, and be able to be so graceful while playing the piano in a way that makes your heart cry. But what affects me even more than classical piano music is cello, after all, I played it for 14 long years. Listening to Saint-Sa�ns' Allegro Appassionato made me feel terribly sad because I haven't played my cello in 8 months. I feel like my fingers are stiff and clumsy from the lack of exercise. I wonder if I could still play Allegro Appassionato the way I could last spring? Or the six Bach suites for solo cello! Those are my all time favourites, really. I know that if I now took my cello, I couldn't play them half as well as I could a year ago (not that I played that well even last spring, I've always been just a mediocre player), but maybe if I was given a month.. Sigh. I don't even have my CDs of classical music here, I left them all in Finland. All I have is my mp3 player and only 21 pieces of classical music in it. Oh well, in a couple of months I'll have my cello.

Anyway, it turned out that I had a free day after all yesterday - the pedology professor wanted to take part in the Belgrade marathon and painting was cancelled because the professor wasn't aware of this Saturday being a normal school day. Though I sort of wish that we'd had those seminars because then I wouldn't have spent that extra bit of money on Nick Hornby's 'High Fidelity' and Kathleen Tessaro's 'Elegance'. Though both of them are true must-haves, and I would've bought them eventually anyway. I especially look forward to reading 'High Fidelity' because I've seen only the movie version and it was good. Really good.

Oh, and I've decided not to believe in horoscopes, since this weekend has been one of the dullest in a long time. Something new and something unbearably exciting my ass.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!