Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:14 p.m. - 2007-04-20
What makes the world go round
My mp3 player is alive again! After getting pedology books from Dekica (a place where you can buy copied school books, they cost around 1-3 euros/piece), I went to buy new ear plugs. I thought that they'd cost something between 10-20 euros and calculated that I can afford them, even if I've spent too much lately. Guess what they cost? 350 dinars (about 4 euros)! I was like, wtf? They were the second most expensive ear plugs in the shop, but the more expensive ones were so ugly that I'd be ashamed to use them.

So, I still haven't gotten used to the local prices. Yesterday I also found out that it's not a good idea to pay with a 5000 din bill at the supermarket. I didn't have anything else and I really had to pay with something. Well, it turned out that the cashier didn't have enough change in the cash register, and when she went to get some from her colleague, the look on other people's faces made me blush. The average salary is 200 euros here and that 5000 din is a bit more than 1/4 of it. Kinda like I would've gone to the local supermarket in Palohein� and payed with 500 euros. I mean, there are people begging in the streets and in the buses, it's all so different than in Helsinki and it's sometimes difficult to remember how lucky I really am.

I really should try to start studying for next Friday's pedology test, since I'm lucky enough to be able to study something that I want. I'm given the chance of getting a better life so why the hell am I doing everything I can to ruin it all? Especially when I got the books today, two months late. I'd so much rather watch Jackie Brown (mm, Tarantino movies) but I've been slacking too much lately. I have to get a grip of myself. So, we'll see how many pages I can go through before I die of boredom (pedology = soil study, probably more effective than a handful of sleeping pills).

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!