Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:23 a.m. - 2007-04-05
Shopping absolutist
It's weird that sometimes when I wake up, I still think I'm in Finland. I've learned to think that Belgrade is my second home but Helsinki will always be the first one. Just thinking of it makes me happy and sad at the same time, maybe a bit homesick too, but now it's easier to push the feeling away than in the beginning. But it's still a bit funny how Anette feels that Birmingham has become her real home. You know, sometimes I even dream in Serbian, like last night - so I am making some progress after all! In my dreams I'm using words that I'd never know how to use in real life because I just can't dig them up from my memory. But in dreams it's like.. like my whole mind is open and I can do anything, even speak perfect Serbian. I wish I could do it when I'm awake, too.

I've been listening to Air too much lately, it always makes me like this.

To cheer myself up after Tuesday's events, I'm going shopping today and maybe to the hairdresser's. I haven't shopped anyclothes since I came here in last September, can you believe it? I can't. I definitely need jeans, maybe a new skirt/a couple of dresses for summer, shirts, tops, socks and some lingerie. Everything, that is. My wardrobe looks just horrifying and I can't find my pink and grey striped top anywhere, the one that I bought with Oona from Only in last June. Maybe it's buried in the laundry basket and since my brother is more interested in washing his own clothes and hasn't actually done the washing up in 4 or 5 days, I wouldn't be so suprised to find it there. Anyway, I saved 160 euros last month and I think I can afford this shopping tour. Even my mum tells me to go shopping! Apparently distance is sometimes just the thing that relationships need. I'm sure that when I get home in July, she'll be all like "Your room looks horrible, you haven't made your bed, why aren't the dishes washed, why is the livingroom so full of your things, etc." But right now I'm enjoying our improved mother-daughter relationship.

This is really off topic, but I've noticed how many Serbians look like Hollywood stars. No, they're not just beautiful with really long legs and a BMI that is approximately 16 (if we're talking about women) but they really look like celebrities. Like, there's Carrie, one girl who looks like Sandra Bullock, that guy who looks like young Alan Rickman, the guy who looks like Riff-Raff (but he quit his studies) and then there's this guy who looks just like the white version of Pharrell Williams. Pharrell, goddammit! I accidentally stared at him during our last geodesy seminar. I was just thinking how it's possible for someone to look so good and NOT be Pharrell, and I was looking at this one guy's back, just some random guy, when the guy suddenly turned his head and looked right at me, and it was HIM. Why I Should Pay Attention During Seminars, Reason #37.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!